COVID-19 Business Information

Comprehensive information for businesses on reopening from COVID, including rules and guidance that must be followed, economic assistance programs, and other resources.

What are responsibilities and benefits for employees who must self-quarantine under the State's travel advisory?

Updated:
July 21, 2020

Under New Jersey's 14-day quarantine travel advisory, which went into effect June 24, 2020, individuals traveling to or returning to New Jersey from states with increasing rates of COVID-19 are advised to self-quarantine. The list of states on the travel advisory list is updated each week. Travelers coming to New Jersey from a state that has a significant degree of community-wide spread of COVID-19 should complete the Traveler Advisory Form.

While the self-quarantine is voluntary, compliance is expected, though Individuals who are traveling to New Jersey from impacted states for business are exempted including truckers driving from an impacted state, and any state, local and federal officials and employees traveling in their official capacities.

Employees and employers should follow current CDC guidance regarding travel.

Under the Jersey Earned Sick Leave Law, eligible employees who have worked for their employer for at least 120 days can use earned sick leave that they have accrued under the law when the employee undergoes isolation or quarantine.

Under the New Jersey Family Leave Act, an eligible employee can also take job-protected leave from work when a health care provider or public health authority recommends that a family member in need of care by the employee voluntarily undergo self-quarantine.

Source:

New Jersey Department of Health